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Club Games – Rates are for each player 
Games: 6:20 pm at Ann Sather’s Restaurant, 909 West Belmont Ave, Chicago, IL  

Aug 5 North American Pairs Qualifying$14 Sep 2 No Game Labor Day Sectional 
Aug 7 North American Pairs Qualifying$14 Sep 4 Club International Fund$14 
Aug 12 Unit123 STaC$15 Sep 9 Club International Fund$14 
Aug 14 Unit123 STaC$15 Sep 11 Club International Fund$14 
Aug 19 Grass Roots FUNd$14 Sep 16 Quarterly Club Championship$13 
Aug 21 Grass Roots FUNd$14 Sep 18 Quarterly Club Championship$13 
Aug 26 North American Pairs Qualifying$14 Sep23 Club International Fund$14 
Aug 28 North American Pairs Qualifying$14 Sep 25 Club International Fund$14 
  Sep 30 Club International Fund$14 

Cub Games in August: 
 Baseball season is here so traffic may be snarled on these August Cub home dates as per the published Cub’s 
schedule. If there are changes due to weather etc., I will not be aware of them: 
 Monday 1:20 pm game:    Wednesday 1:20 pm game: Aug 7 
 Monday 7:05 pm game: Aug 5   Wednesday 7:05 pm game: Aug 21 

Silverpoints the week of Aug 12th 
 This are Unit 123 Sectional at the Clubs games awarding silverpoints. All players are in Strata A regardless of 
masterpoint holdings. For these games all players with less than 3500 masterpoints are placed in Strata B. Then all players 
with less than 1000 masterpoints are placed in Strata C. Different events have different strata breakpoints.  

Law 45 - Card Played from Dummy from 2020 Duplicate Decisions for Directors 
 [45B. Play of Card from Dummy: Declarer plays a card from dummy by naming the card, after which dummy picks 
up the card and faces it on the table. In playing from dummy’s hand declarer may, if necessary, pick up the desired card 
himself.] 
 [45C3. A card in the dummy is played if it has been deliberately touched by declarer except for the purpose either of 
arranging dummy’s cards, or of reaching a card above or below the card or cards touched.] 
 [45C4a. A card is played if a player names or otherwise designates it as the card he proposes to play (but see Law 
47).] 
 Disagreement regarding the play of a card from dummy: What to do when the Director is called because the 
players do not agree on what was the card called from dummy? [ACBL Office Policy: In cases where there is no evidence 
to the contrary TDs should rule in agreement with the "speaker". This would apply to cases where it is 2 to 2 or 1 to 1. 
Where all the other players (excepting the "speaker") have given SOME indication that they thought the "speaker" said 
something else, TDs should rule with the majority. In cases that are 2 to 1 it is material to which side the one abstaining 
belongs. When the "speaker's" partner abstains, there should be a slight tendency to rule with the majority. When it is a 
member of the other side abstaining, there should be a marked tendency to rule with the majority. 
 These are guidelines. Whenever there is substantial evidence, TDs should rule with the evidence. Committees have 
purview as these matters are questions of fact.] 
 Correcting an unintended designation from dummy: [45C4b. Declarer may correct an unintended designation of 
a card from dummy until he next plays a card from either his own hand or from dummy. A change of designation may be 
allowed after a slip of the tongue, but not after a loss of concentration or a reconsideration of action (…)] 
 The option to change a card played from dummy is limited to the situations where declarer named it. If declarer 
played the card itself, touching it, the card cannot be changed.  
 Most of the time declarer will claim inadvertency when trying to change a card named, and in their mind the call was 
“inadvertent” because they would never have played it. However, the fact is that they did name it, and to judge the call of 
the card as inadvertent the Director must judge that it was a slip of the tongue and not of the mind. [ACBL Laws 
Commission: In determining “unintended”, the burden of proof is on the declarer. The standard of proof is 
"overwhelming." Unless there is such proof to the contrary, the director should assume that the card called was the 
intended one. If declarer's RHO has played and there is any reasonable possibility that information gained from RHO’s 
play could suggest that declarer's play from dummy was a mistake, the director should not rule “unintended”. (…) The 
bottom line is that there  should be strong presumption that the card called is the card that declarer intended to 
call.] 
 The overwhelming majority of cases where declarer tries to change a card they named are caused by a lapse 
of concentration or a change of mind. 
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